screensavers/.git
14 months agoFixed minor typo in Makefile comment. master origin/HEAD origin/master
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 14 Jul 2021 20:27:16 +0000 (13:27 -0700)]
Fixed minor typo in Makefile comment.

14 months agoAdded 'long division' as new embedded program for NEDsim.
Aaron Taylor [Tue, 13 Jul 2021 01:58:33 +0000 (18:58 -0700)]
Added 'long division' as new embedded program for NEDsim.

14 months agoInitial commit of README for NEDsim. Still lacks an Overview section.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 12 Jul 2021 22:36:40 +0000 (15:36 -0700)]
Initial commit of README for NEDsim. Still lacks an Overview section.

14 months agoFixed some space characters that slipped into the Makefile.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 12 Jul 2021 21:57:04 +0000 (14:57 -0700)]
Fixed some space characters that slipped into the Makefile.

14 months agoAdded ability to directly embed NED programs in NEDsim binary for runtime execution.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 12 Jul 2021 21:49:30 +0000 (14:49 -0700)]
Added ability to directly embed NED programs in NEDsim binary for runtime execution.

14 months agoFixed bug. The SC now correctly displays the currently executing syllable.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 11 Jul 2021 03:15:24 +0000 (20:15 -0700)]
Fixed bug. The SC now correctly displays the currently executing syllable.

14 months agoRemoving TODO related to freeing X-related allocations. The only things we aren't...
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 11 Jul 2021 02:01:20 +0000 (19:01 -0700)]
Removing TODO related to freeing X-related allocations. The only things we aren't freeing are color allocations and I'm not worried about running out of color slots before the program terminates.

14 months agoCleaned up set_font_size() in NEDsim. Leaving the inefficient version since we only...
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 11 Jul 2021 01:52:51 +0000 (18:52 -0700)]
Cleaned up set_font_size() in NEDsim. Leaving the inefficient version since we only call it twice.

14 months agoCleaned up all the helper and drawing function areas in NEDsim.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 11 Jul 2021 01:38:05 +0000 (18:38 -0700)]
Cleaned up all the helper and drawing function areas in NEDsim.

14 months agoSince draw_rect_area() changes the foreground color anyway, added foreground color...
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 11 Jul 2021 00:57:03 +0000 (17:57 -0700)]
Since draw_rect_area() changes the foreground color anyway, added foreground color argument and removed prep calls to set_color().

14 months agoSince we are not longer trying to remain C89 compliant for XScreensaver, reduce the...
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 11 Jul 2021 00:49:17 +0000 (17:49 -0700)]
Since we are not longer trying to remain C89 compliant for XScreensaver, reduce the scope of a few loop counters.

14 months agoSince there is no point drawing blank lights during initialization, we no longer...
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 11 Jul 2021 00:45:23 +0000 (17:45 -0700)]
Since there is no point drawing blank lights during initialization, we no longer do so.

14 months agoAdded COLOR() macro to NEDsim for ease of reading.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 11 Jul 2021 00:41:35 +0000 (17:41 -0700)]
Added COLOR() macro to NEDsim for ease of reading.

14 months agoAdded draw_text() to NEDsim and refactored all the drawing functions to use it.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 11 Jul 2021 00:31:43 +0000 (17:31 -0700)]
Added draw_text() to NEDsim and refactored all the drawing functions to use it.

14 months agoIn NEDsim, display as many data rows as possible instead of a power-of-two.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 10 Jul 2021 22:56:01 +0000 (15:56 -0700)]
In NEDsim, display as many data rows as possible instead of a power-of-two.

14 months agoMinor cleanup of helper functions in NEDsim.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 10 Jul 2021 22:53:16 +0000 (15:53 -0700)]
Minor cleanup of helper functions in NEDsim.

14 months agoConsolidated #defines for NEDsim.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 10 Jul 2021 21:42:01 +0000 (14:42 -0700)]
Consolidated #defines for NEDsim.

14 months agoAdded missing include guard to simulator header file.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 10 Jul 2021 21:23:40 +0000 (14:23 -0700)]
Added missing include guard to simulator header file.

14 months agoCleaned up XScreensaver portion of NEDsim.c.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 10 Jul 2021 20:39:21 +0000 (13:39 -0700)]
Cleaned up XScreensaver portion of NEDsim.c.

14 months agoAdded multiple colors schemes and CLI option to select them.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 9 Jul 2021 21:18:51 +0000 (14:18 -0700)]
Added multiple colors schemes and CLI option to select them.
Also cleaned up comments in 'data structures' portion of NEDsim code.

14 months agoMade NEDsim double-buffered.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 9 Jul 2021 19:59:58 +0000 (12:59 -0700)]
Made NEDsim double-buffered.

14 months agoPruned #includes for NEDsim simulator files.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 9 Jul 2021 01:45:27 +0000 (18:45 -0700)]
Pruned #includes for NEDsim simulator files.

14 months agoMinor cleanup in NEDsim.c, removing old TODO items, old code, etc.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 9 Jul 2021 01:40:15 +0000 (18:40 -0700)]
Minor cleanup in NEDsim.c, removing old TODO items, old code, etc.

14 months agoAdded Makefile for NEDsim.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 9 Jul 2021 01:35:45 +0000 (18:35 -0700)]
Added Makefile for NEDsim.

14 months agoAddressed minor TODOs in simulator.c
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 9 Jul 2021 01:31:36 +0000 (18:31 -0700)]
Addressed minor TODOs in simulator.c

14 months agoMade most functions in NEDsim simulator static.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 9 Jul 2021 01:28:22 +0000 (18:28 -0700)]
Made most functions in NEDsim simulator static.

14 months agoPruned #includes and made minor cleanups in NEDsim header file.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 9 Jul 2021 01:24:57 +0000 (18:24 -0700)]
Pruned #includes and made minor cleanups in NEDsim header file.

14 months agoAdded `-binary` CLI flag to NEDsim for loading a.out format programs.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 9 Jul 2021 01:17:59 +0000 (18:17 -0700)]
Added `-binary` CLI flag to NEDsim for loading a.out format programs.

14 months agoTrimmed down NEDsim to a single CPU, single thread, 64MB RAM, 64k element stack,...
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 9 Jul 2021 00:18:01 +0000 (17:18 -0700)]
Trimmed down NEDsim to a single CPU, single thread, 64MB RAM, 64k element stack, no SLU, and no MVSTCK syllable (and still no CMPSWP syllable).

14 months agoAdded 'antialiased fonts' to improvement list for NEDsim. Not going to mess with...
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 8 Jul 2021 23:42:23 +0000 (16:42 -0700)]
Added 'antialiased fonts' to improvement list for NEDsim. Not going to mess with font stuff right now.

14 months agoNow NEDsim maintains the simulator when the window resizes, only resetting the displa...
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 8 Jul 2021 23:35:08 +0000 (16:35 -0700)]
Now NEDsim maintains the simulator when the window resizes, only resetting the display portion of the state struct.

14 months agoAdded rounded panel corners to NEDsim.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 8 Jul 2021 23:30:23 +0000 (16:30 -0700)]
Added rounded panel corners to NEDsim.

14 months agoAdded 'improvements' file for NEDsim hack to avoid scope creep.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 8 Jul 2021 23:06:04 +0000 (16:06 -0700)]
Added 'improvements' file for NEDsim hack to avoid scope creep.

14 months agoAdded NEDsim to list in hack directory README.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 8 Jul 2021 23:04:07 +0000 (16:04 -0700)]
Added NEDsim to list in hack directory README.

14 months agoInitial commit of NED1 front panel code I've been hacking on.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 8 Jul 2021 22:59:01 +0000 (15:59 -0700)]
Initial commit of NED1 front panel code I've been hacking on.

Thus far, it draws and XScreensaver compatible, dynamically sized front panel
and glues it to a simplified NEDsim instance.

The a.out format input file is hardcoded as "./test.out", and many other things
are hardcoded/WIP at this time, but the basic simulator runs NED code and
displays (with poor visual synchronization) the correct state.

15 months agoMinor change to WolframAutomata README.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 12 Jun 2021 23:57:48 +0000 (16:57 -0700)]
Minor change to WolframAutomata README.

15 months agoSmall changes after proof-reading of WolframAutomata README.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 12 Jun 2021 21:39:46 +0000 (14:39 -0700)]
Small changes after proof-reading of WolframAutomata README.

15 months agoGeneral proofreading and cleanup of WolframAutomata.c
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 12 Jun 2021 21:28:52 +0000 (14:28 -0700)]
General proofreading and cleanup of WolframAutomata.c

15 months agoOne more gitweb-related formatting change to example config file.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 11 Jun 2021 02:39:36 +0000 (19:39 -0700)]
One more gitweb-related formatting change to example config file.

15 months agoChanged formatting of one example config file for better display in gitweb.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 11 Jun 2021 02:38:05 +0000 (19:38 -0700)]
Changed formatting of one example config file for better display in gitweb.

15 months agoUpdated XScreensaver integration notes for WolframAutomata now that CLI flags are...
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 11 Jun 2021 02:34:28 +0000 (19:34 -0700)]
Updated XScreensaver integration notes for WolframAutomata now that CLI flags are finished.

15 months agoUpdated list of possible improvements for WolframAutomata.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 11 Jun 2021 00:52:56 +0000 (17:52 -0700)]
Updated list of possible improvements for WolframAutomata.

15 months agoRegrouped CLI options by function in WolframAutomata.c
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 11 Jun 2021 00:48:27 +0000 (17:48 -0700)]
Regrouped CLI options by function in WolframAutomata.c

15 months agoAdded reminder note to top of WolframAutomata for C89 compliance.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 11 Jun 2021 00:45:16 +0000 (17:45 -0700)]
Added reminder note to top of WolframAutomata for C89 compliance.

15 months agoUpdated WolframAutomata to be C89 compliant.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 11 Jun 2021 00:42:56 +0000 (17:42 -0700)]
Updated WolframAutomata to be C89 compliant.

15 months agoReworked CLI flags for starting seed in README and WolframAutomata source.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 10 Jun 2021 23:20:20 +0000 (16:20 -0700)]
Reworked CLI flags for starting seed in README and WolframAutomata source.

15 months agoUpdated WolframAutomata's rule related CLI flags to match README.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 10 Jun 2021 22:24:18 +0000 (15:24 -0700)]
Updated WolframAutomata's rule related CLI flags to match README.

15 months agoUpdated WolframAutomata's simulation speed related CLI flags to match README.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 10 Jun 2021 22:12:25 +0000 (15:12 -0700)]
Updated WolframAutomata's simulation speed related CLI flags to match README.

15 months agoUpdated WolframAutomata's simulation length related CLI flags to match README.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 10 Jun 2021 22:09:47 +0000 (15:09 -0700)]
Updated WolframAutomata's simulation length related CLI flags to match README.

15 months agoAdded some context to XScreensaver config file in WolframAutomata README.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 10 Jun 2021 21:59:07 +0000 (14:59 -0700)]
Added some context to XScreensaver config file in WolframAutomata README.

15 months agoCollection of minor updates to WolframAutomata README.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 10 Jun 2021 21:47:39 +0000 (14:47 -0700)]
Collection of minor updates to WolframAutomata README.

15 months agoCleaned up CLI flags for cell size in WolframAutomata source code and README.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 10 Jun 2021 21:46:50 +0000 (14:46 -0700)]
Cleaned up CLI flags for cell size in WolframAutomata source code and README.

15 months agoUpdated WolframAutomata's admiration window related flags to match README.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 9 Jun 2021 02:19:20 +0000 (19:19 -0700)]
Updated WolframAutomata's admiration window related flags to match README.

15 months agoUpdated WolframAutomata's color related CLI flags to match README.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 9 Jun 2021 02:09:35 +0000 (19:09 -0700)]
Updated WolframAutomata's color related CLI flags to match README.

15 months agoAdded XScreensaver integration notes to WolframAutomata README.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 9 Jun 2021 00:59:49 +0000 (17:59 -0700)]
Added XScreensaver integration notes to WolframAutomata README.

15 months agoAdded CLI flags to README for WolframAutomata.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 9 Jun 2021 00:47:35 +0000 (17:47 -0700)]
Added CLI flags to README for WolframAutomata.

15 months agoAdded a file for future hack ideas.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 22:21:58 +0000 (15:21 -0700)]
Added a file for future hack ideas.

15 months agoAdded a list of future improvements to be made.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 22:21:22 +0000 (15:21 -0700)]
Added a list of future improvements to be made.

15 months agoOne more update to previous two commits. Forgot a '#include'.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 22:11:25 +0000 (15:11 -0700)]
One more update to previous two commits. Forgot a '#include'.

15 months agoAdded additional note to previous commit. Forgot to mention linker flags.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 22:10:09 +0000 (15:10 -0700)]
Added additional note to previous commit. Forgot to mention linker flags.

15 months agoAdded notes on generating screenshots of running hacks.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 22:08:44 +0000 (15:08 -0700)]
Added notes on generating screenshots of running hacks.

15 months agoAdded two screenshots of WolframAutomata in operation.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 02:38:58 +0000 (19:38 -0700)]
Added two screenshots of WolframAutomata in operation.

15 months agoAdded basic README to WolframAutomata.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 02:38:36 +0000 (19:38 -0700)]
Added basic README to WolframAutomata.

16 months agoRemoved manpage reference in Makefile for WolframAutomata.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 29 May 2021 21:47:23 +0000 (14:47 -0700)]
Removed manpage reference in Makefile for WolframAutomata.

16 months agoAdded README for `hacks/` that one-sentence-summarizes the hacks contained within.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 29 May 2021 00:53:10 +0000 (17:53 -0700)]
Added README for `hacks/` that one-sentence-summarizes the hacks contained within.

16 months agoFirst 'working' version of WolframAutomata for FreeBSD. Still has an XFreeGC() proble...
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 29 May 2021 00:28:42 +0000 (17:28 -0700)]
First 'working' version of WolframAutomata for FreeBSD. Still has an XFreeGC() problem on Linux.

18 months agoModified WolframAutomata to loop with new settings upon completing a simulation.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 21 Mar 2021 23:14:22 +0000 (16:14 -0700)]
Modified WolframAutomata to loop with new settings upon completing a simulation.

18 months agoAdded CLI options -random-num-generations, -random-pixel-size, and -random-delay...
Aaron Taylor [Tue, 16 Mar 2021 10:01:14 +0000 (03:01 -0700)]
Added CLI options -random-num-generations, -random-pixel-size, and -random-delay to WolframAutomata.

18 months agoWolframAutomata now uses a black background for the pixmap, reserving the fg/bg color...
Aaron Taylor [Tue, 16 Mar 2021 05:49:03 +0000 (22:49 -0700)]
WolframAutomata now uses a black background for the pixmap, reserving the fg/bg colors for active/inactive cells.

18 months agoAdded several fg:bg color pairs to color_list[] for use with -default-colors CLI...
Aaron Taylor [Tue, 16 Mar 2021 01:15:25 +0000 (18:15 -0700)]
Added several fg:bg color pairs to color_list[] for use with -default-colors CLI flag in WolframAutomata.

18 months agoMisc 'catchup' commit on WolframAutomata.c.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 15 Mar 2021 15:39:05 +0000 (08:39 -0700)]
Misc 'catchup' commit on WolframAutomata.c.

18 months agoAdded ability to set fg/bg color in WolframAutomata.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 15 Mar 2021 15:33:11 +0000 (08:33 -0700)]
Added ability to set fg/bg color in WolframAutomata.

18 months agoAdded curated list of rule/seed combinations to WolframAutomata for use when user...
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 15 Mar 2021 12:50:48 +0000 (05:50 -0700)]
Added curated list of rule/seed combinations to WolframAutomata for use when user doesn't select anything specific.

18 months agoAdded CLI flags to WolframAutomata allowing user to specify starting population.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 15 Mar 2021 11:39:52 +0000 (04:39 -0700)]
Added CLI flags to WolframAutomata allowing user to specify starting population.

18 months agoAdded CLI options for requesting a specific rule, random rules, or random curated...
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 14 Mar 2021 10:46:41 +0000 (03:46 -0700)]
Added CLI options for requesting a specific rule, random rules, or random curated rules in WolframAutomata.
Also bumped up the default delay by 10x.

18 months agoAdded "number of generations" as a command line flag to WolframAutomata.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 14 Mar 2021 08:37:49 +0000 (00:37 -0800)]
Added "number of generations" as a command line flag to WolframAutomata.
Also bumped default size of pixels from 1x1 to 2x2 given how many high DPI displays exist now.

18 months agoCorrectly store pointer to new state struct with screenhack framework on window resiz...
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 14 Mar 2021 08:12:44 +0000 (00:12 -0800)]
Correctly store pointer to new state struct with screenhack framework on window resize events.

18 months agoAdded option to increase pixel size in WolframAutomata from 1x1 to NxN as command...
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 14 Mar 2021 08:08:42 +0000 (00:08 -0800)]
Added option to increase pixel size in WolframAutomata from 1x1 to NxN as command-line option.
Also cleaned up command-line option for the delay in microseconds between draw() calls.

18 months agoUpdated/clarified planned command options for WolframAutomata.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 14 Mar 2021 08:05:43 +0000 (00:05 -0800)]
Updated/clarified planned command options for WolframAutomata.

18 months agoEnforcing tabs -> 4 spaces on WolframAutomata.c.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 13 Mar 2021 00:22:23 +0000 (16:22 -0800)]
Enforcing tabs -> 4 spaces on WolframAutomata.c.

18 months agoAdding Makefile to build the hack from the previous commit.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 13 Mar 2021 00:09:17 +0000 (16:09 -0800)]
Adding Makefile to build the hack from the previous commit.

18 months agoInitial commit of WolframAutomata hack. Basic functionality is in place; program...
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 13 Mar 2021 00:07:29 +0000 (16:07 -0800)]
Initial commit of WolframAutomata hack. Basic functionality is in place; program can render an arbitrary CA on the screen.

18 months agoAdded basic README for overall repo.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 10 Mar 2021 11:16:09 +0000 (03:16 -0800)]
Added basic README for overall repo.

18 months agoAdded MIT/X license to project.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 10 Mar 2021 11:10:47 +0000 (03:10 -0800)]
Added MIT/X license to project.

18 months agoAdded `Makefile` documenting the build commands for greynetic/reference hack.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 10 Mar 2021 11:09:27 +0000 (03:09 -0800)]
Added `Makefile` documenting the build commands for greynetic/reference hack.

18 months agoAdded README.md for greynetic/reference hack.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 10 Mar 2021 11:09:09 +0000 (03:09 -0800)]
Added README.md for greynetic/reference hack.

18 months agoImported the greynetic hack and README.hacking document from xscreensaver as a reference.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 10 Mar 2021 11:08:15 +0000 (03:08 -0800)]
Imported the greynetic hack and README.hacking document from xscreensaver as a reference.

18 months agoAdding `README.md` related to `screenhack` files in previous commit.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 10 Mar 2021 09:39:16 +0000 (01:39 -0800)]
Adding `README.md` related to `screenhack` files in previous commit.

18 months agoAdding files related to the `screenhack` API for X11 hacks.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 10 Mar 2021 09:38:09 +0000 (01:38 -0800)]
Adding files related to the `screenhack` API for X11 hacks.
All files imported without modification from `xscreensaver-5.45.tar.gz`.
See file headers for license details.