surreal-numbers/.git
16 months agoInitial commit of Chapter 4 notes. Just a review, import of proof outlines, and updat... master origin/HEAD origin/master
Aaron Taylor [Tue, 18 May 2021 01:43:10 +0000 (18:43 -0700)]
Initial commit of Chapter 4 notes. Just a review, import of proof outlines, and update of rhetoric. Proofs tomorrow.

16 months agoChanged the way I label chapter headers in my notes.
Aaron Taylor [Tue, 18 May 2021 01:42:48 +0000 (18:42 -0700)]
Changed the way I label chapter headers in my notes.

16 months ago'go fmt' pass on number breeding program.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 16 May 2021 01:40:08 +0000 (18:40 -0700)]
'go fmt' pass on number breeding program.

16 months agoModified heap profiling to only dump at end of program, not after every generation.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 16 May 2021 01:07:13 +0000 (18:07 -0700)]
Modified heap profiling to only dump at end of program, not after every generation.

16 months agoModified permuteExistingNumbers(), moving the isValidSurrealNumber() check into the...
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 15 May 2021 22:43:01 +0000 (15:43 -0700)]
Modified permuteExistingNumbers(), moving the isValidSurrealNumber() check into the symbol-permutation loop.

Based on profiling, such a large quantity of invalid numbers was being
generated that data operations were sucking up a significant portion of total
program runtime.

Benchmarking command:
    time ./ch1-breeding-numbers -generations 13 -silent
    go tool pprof ch1-breeding-numbers 13gen-memprofile-gen12.mprof
        top25

Before:
    38.303u 2.233s 0:23.41 173.1%   0+0k 40+62io 354pf+0w
    Showing nodes accounting for 2.29GB, 100% of 2.29GB total

After:
    23.435u 0.887s 0:19.54 124.4%   0+0k 40+52io 347pf+0w
    Showing nodes accounting for 1.12GB, 99.55% of 1.13GB total

16 months agoModified permuteExistingNumbers() to pre-allocate sufficiently large slice for all...
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 15 May 2021 22:15:08 +0000 (15:15 -0700)]
Modified permuteExistingNumbers() to pre-allocate sufficiently large slice for all results.

Based on profiling, significant time was spent in growSlice() and memMove() as
a result of the per-number slice append(). Consolidating the allocations resulted
in significant speed and memory usage improvements.

Benchmarking command:
    time ./ch1-breeding-numbers -generations 13 -silent
    go tool pprof ch1-breeding-numbers 13gen-memprofile-gen12.mprof
        top25

Before:
    71.978u 3.726s 0:31.79 238.0%   0+0k 40+75io 353pf+0w
    Showing nodes accounting for 3.70GB, 100% of 3.70GB total

After:
    38.303u 2.233s 0:23.41 173.1%   0+0k 40+62io 354pf+0w
    Showing nodes accounting for 2.29GB, 100% of 2.29GB total

16 months agoUpdated getIndex() for 650% speed improvement in number breeding program.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 15 May 2021 10:40:13 +0000 (03:40 -0700)]
Updated getIndex() for 650% speed improvement in number breeding program.

Added 'value' field to number based on conjectures related to addition. See my
chapter 2 and 3 notes. This allowed a binary search of the universe rather than
a linear search.

Benchmarking command:
    time ./ch1-breeding-numbers -generations 13 -silent

Before:
    382.156u 3.945s 5:41.96 112.9%  0+0k 40+66io 7pf+0w

After:
    59.828u 3.247s 0:30.70 205.4%   0+0k 1+0io 0pf+0w

16 months agoAdded basic CPU and heap profiling to Chapter 1 "Breeding Numbers" program.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 15 May 2021 09:50:02 +0000 (02:50 -0700)]
Added basic CPU and heap profiling to Chapter 1 "Breeding Numbers" program.

16 months agoAdded first notes related to Chapter 3. Trying to define addition.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 15 May 2021 04:23:06 +0000 (21:23 -0700)]
Added first notes related to Chapter 3. Trying to define addition.

16 months agoAdded notes related to Chapter 2.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 12 May 2021 08:19:31 +0000 (01:19 -0700)]
Added notes related to Chapter 2.

16 months agoAdded some status-update output to surreal number breeding program. Given the
Aaron Taylor [Tue, 11 May 2021 19:49:50 +0000 (12:49 -0700)]
Added some status-update output to surreal number breeding program. Given the
long runtimes, it's useful to see how far the program has progressed.

16 months agoAdded main README for project.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 9 May 2021 11:35:16 +0000 (04:35 -0700)]
Added main README for project.

16 months agoChanged usage->instructions in README header.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 9 May 2021 11:34:06 +0000 (04:34 -0700)]
Changed usage->instructions in README header.

16 months agoMinor spacing changes to README from previous commit.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 9 May 2021 11:31:32 +0000 (04:31 -0700)]
Minor spacing changes to README from previous commit.

16 months agoAdded README for ch1-breeding-numbers experiment.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 9 May 2021 11:26:16 +0000 (04:26 -0700)]
Added README for ch1-breeding-numbers experiment.

16 months agoFinal commit of 'initial version' of program for breeding surreal numbers. Program...
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 9 May 2021 11:16:05 +0000 (04:16 -0700)]
Final commit of 'initial version' of program for breeding surreal numbers. Program compiles and runs. Data output starts to become significant around generation 12-ish.

16 months agoMore updates to Chapter 1 notes exploring order and uniqueness.
Aaron Taylor [Sat, 8 May 2021 08:53:32 +0000 (01:53 -0700)]
More updates to Chapter 1 notes exploring order and uniqueness.

16 months agoSignificant updates to Chapter 1 notes exploring order and uniqueness.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 7 May 2021 10:02:31 +0000 (03:02 -0700)]
Significant updates to Chapter 1 notes exploring order and uniqueness.

16 months agoMinor updates to LaTeX note template.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 7 May 2021 10:02:10 +0000 (03:02 -0700)]
Minor updates to LaTeX note template.

16 months agoAdding some more thoughts to my chapter-1 notes/speculations.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 5 May 2021 10:57:57 +0000 (03:57 -0700)]
Adding some more thoughts to my chapter-1 notes/speculations.

16 months agoIn chapter-1 experiments, continued writing a program to breed numbers.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 5 May 2021 10:17:13 +0000 (03:17 -0700)]
In chapter-1 experiments, continued writing a program to breed numbers.
Still non-functional.

16 months agoFixed typo in chapter 1 notes where numbers are similar.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 5 May 2021 05:08:41 +0000 (22:08 -0700)]
Fixed typo in chapter 1 notes where numbers are similar.

16 months agoCreated basic data structures and methods for dealing with a collection of surreal...
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 5 May 2021 04:58:52 +0000 (21:58 -0700)]
Created basic data structures and methods for dealing with a collection of surreal numbers.

16 months agoAdded some more notes related to Chapter 1. Mostly misc explorations of the
Aaron Taylor [Tue, 4 May 2021 01:24:45 +0000 (18:24 -0700)]
Added some more notes related to Chapter 1. Mostly misc explorations of the
first two axioms defining surreal number creation and comparison.

17 months agoInitial commit of some notes related to chapter 1.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 3 May 2021 06:24:31 +0000 (23:24 -0700)]
Initial commit of some notes related to chapter 1.

17 months agoAdded framework for note-taking with LaTeX.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 3 May 2021 05:06:28 +0000 (22:06 -0700)]
Added framework for note-taking with LaTeX.

17 months agoAdded framework for experimenting using Go.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 3 May 2021 03:38:24 +0000 (20:38 -0700)]
Added framework for experimenting using Go.

17 months agoInitial commit, just a license.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 3 May 2021 03:08:29 +0000 (20:08 -0700)]
Initial commit, just a license.