xeon-phi-kernel-module/.git
16 months agoUpdated `README.md` with instructions for building/using the kernel module. master origin/HEAD origin/master
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 17 May 2021 23:38:01 +0000 (16:38 -0700)]
Updated `README.md` with instructions for building/using the kernel module.
Also a few misc updates to README, like "Status" update.

16 months agoAdded final list of files to Makefile target 'clean'. first-build
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 6 May 2021 00:59:45 +0000 (17:59 -0700)]
Added final list of files to Makefile target 'clean'.

16 months agoUpdated host/linvnet.c per the changes to net_device->destructor.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 6 May 2021 00:54:13 +0000 (17:54 -0700)]
Updated host/linvnet.c per the changes to net_device->destructor.

See also:

  - https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/cf124db566e6b036b8bcbe8decbed740bdfac8c6

16 months agoUpdated micscif/micscif_select.c references from wait_queue_t to wait_queue_entry_t.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 6 May 2021 00:45:14 +0000 (17:45 -0700)]
Updated micscif/micscif_select.c references from wait_queue_t to wait_queue_entry_t.

See also:

  - https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/ac6424b981bce1c4bc55675c6ce11bfe1bbfa64f

16 months agoUpdated micscif/micscif_rma.c to address changes in callback functions stored in...
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 5 May 2021 23:11:24 +0000 (16:11 -0700)]
Updated micscif/micscif_rma.c to address changes in callback functions stored in the mmu_notifier_ops struct for use with secondary/client MMUs.

17 months agoUpdated micscif/micscif_rma.c from page_cache_release() to put_page().
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 2 May 2021 08:19:33 +0000 (01:19 -0700)]
Updated micscif/micscif_rma.c from page_cache_release() to put_page().

See also:

  - https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/1fa64f198b9f8d6ec0f7aec7c18dc94684391140

  - https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/09cbfeaf1a5a67bfb3201e0c83c810cecb2efa5a

17 months agoUpdated micscif/micscif_rma_dma.c to use new timer API introduced in Linux 4.14.0.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 2 May 2021 08:02:49 +0000 (01:02 -0700)]
Updated micscif/micscif_rma_dma.c to use new timer API introduced in Linux 4.14.0.

See also:

  - https://lwn.net/Articles/735887/

  - https://stackoverflow.com/questions/53839625

17 months agoUpdated micscif/micscif_rma_dma.c with #include for touch_softlockup_watchdog().
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 2 May 2021 07:29:58 +0000 (00:29 -0700)]
Updated micscif/micscif_rma_dma.c with #include for touch_softlockup_watchdog().

17 months agoUpdated micscif/micscif_api.c to new location for atomic_t element.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 2 May 2021 04:46:55 +0000 (21:46 -0700)]
Updated micscif/micscif_api.c to new location for atomic_t element.

17 months agoUpdated micscif/miscif_api.c from page_cache_release() to put_page().
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 2 May 2021 04:31:27 +0000 (21:31 -0700)]
Updated micscif/miscif_api.c from page_cache_release() to put_page().

See also:

  - https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/1fa64f198b9f8d6ec0f7aec7c18dc94684391140

  - https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/09cbfeaf1a5a67bfb3201e0c83c810cecb2efa5a

17 months agoUpdated micscif/miscif_api.c for new get_user_pages() function.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 2 May 2021 04:30:41 +0000 (21:30 -0700)]
Updated micscif/miscif_api.c for new get_user_pages() function.

At some point the function prototype changed from this:

    long get_user_pages(struct task_struct *tsk, struct mm_struct *mm,
                unsigned long start, unsigned long nr_pages,
                int write, int force, struct page **pages,
                struct vm_area_struct **vmas);

into this:

    long get_user_pages(unsigned long start, unsigned long nr_pages,
                    unsigned int gup_flags, struct page **pages,
                    struct vm_area_struct **vmas);

With the individual 'write' and 'force' flags transforming into gup_flags per
this patch:

    https://patchwork.kernel.org/project/linux-arm-kernel/patch/20161013002020.3062-7-lstoakes@gmail.com/

17 months agoUpdated host/vhost/mic_blk.c to use iov_iter interface.
Aaron Taylor [Sun, 2 May 2021 04:12:21 +0000 (21:12 -0700)]
Updated host/vhost/mic_blk.c to use iov_iter interface.

See also:

  - https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/9725d4cef62229b4ec4c912e0db0761e7d400650

  - https://lwn.net/Articles/625077/

  - https://stackoverflow.com/questions/42744637/what-is-iter-iovec-iter-kvec-and-iter-bvec

  - https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/a528d35

17 months agoUpdated host/vhost/mic_blk.c, adding a `MIC_` prefix to the SECTOR_SHIFT and
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 30 Apr 2021 21:48:41 +0000 (14:48 -0700)]
Updated host/vhost/mic_blk.c, adding a `MIC_` prefix to the SECTOR_SHIFT and
SECTOR_SIZE macros since there is a conflicting definition in
`/usr/src/linux-headers-4.19.0-16-common/include/linux/blkdev.h`.

The definitions are nearly identical and that in host/vhost/mic_blk.c could
probably be removed instead of prefixed. I'm just being conservative since I'm
making a bunch of changes at once without the ability to build and test along
the way.

17 months agoMinor formatting changes in host/vhost/vhost.h.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 30 Apr 2021 21:23:50 +0000 (14:23 -0700)]
Minor formatting changes in host/vhost/vhost.h.

17 months agoUpdated host/vhost/mic_vhost.c and vhost.h references from wait_queue_t to wait_queue...
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 30 Apr 2021 21:21:04 +0000 (14:21 -0700)]
Updated host/vhost/mic_vhost.c and vhost.h references from wait_queue_t to wait_queue_entry_t.

See also:

  - https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/ac6424b981bce1c4bc55675c6ce11bfe1bbfa64f

17 months agoUpdated host/vhost/vhost.h to use READ_ONCE() macro instead of ACCESS_ONCE().
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 30 Apr 2021 21:14:40 +0000 (14:14 -0700)]
Updated host/vhost/vhost.h to use READ_ONCE() macro instead of ACCESS_ONCE().

See also:

  - https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/b899a850431e2dd0943205a63a68573f3e312d0d

17 months agoMinor changes to Makefile target 'clean' in order to catch missed files.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 30 Apr 2021 21:12:47 +0000 (14:12 -0700)]
Minor changes to Makefile target 'clean' in order to catch missed files.

17 months agoUpdated host/uos_download.c to use new timer API introduced in Linux 4.14.0.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 30 Apr 2021 08:10:49 +0000 (01:10 -0700)]
Updated host/uos_download.c to use new timer API introduced in Linux 4.14.0.

    See also:

      - https://lwn.net/Articles/735887/

      - https://stackoverflow.com/questions/53839625

17 months agoMinor change to Makfile target 'clean' to catch missed file.
Aaron Taylor [Fri, 30 Apr 2021 08:09:34 +0000 (01:09 -0700)]
Minor change to Makfile target 'clean' to catch missed file.

17 months agoUpdated host/tools_support.c for new get_user_pages() function.
Aaron Taylor [Thu, 29 Apr 2021 00:05:17 +0000 (17:05 -0700)]
Updated host/tools_support.c for new get_user_pages() function.

At some point the function prototype changed from this:

    long get_user_pages(struct task_struct *tsk, struct mm_struct *mm,
                unsigned long start, unsigned long nr_pages,
                int write, int force, struct page **pages,
                struct vm_area_struct **vmas);

into this:

    long get_user_pages(unsigned long start, unsigned long nr_pages,
                    unsigned int gup_flags, struct page **pages,
                    struct vm_area_struct **vmas);

With the individual 'write' and 'force' flags transforming into gup_flags per
this patch:

    https://patchwork.kernel.org/project/linux-arm-kernel/patch/20161013002020.3062-7-lstoakes@gmail.com/

17 months agoUpdated host/tools_support.c, changing from page_cache_release() to put_page().
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 28 Apr 2021 23:45:01 +0000 (16:45 -0700)]
Updated host/tools_support.c, changing from page_cache_release() to put_page().

See also:

  - https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/1fa64f198b9f8d6ec0f7aec7c18dc94684391140

  - https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/09cbfeaf1a5a67bfb3201e0c83c810cecb2efa5a

17 months agoFixed misleading indentation in host/pm_pcstate.c
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 28 Apr 2021 23:22:16 +0000 (16:22 -0700)]
Fixed misleading indentation in host/pm_pcstate.c

17 months agoAdded a basic README to the project.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 28 Apr 2021 08:50:22 +0000 (01:50 -0700)]
Added a basic README to the project.

17 months agoUpdated host/linvnet.c per the changes to net_device->destructor.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 28 Apr 2021 08:28:26 +0000 (01:28 -0700)]
Updated host/linvnet.c per the changes to net_device->destructor.

See also:

  - https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/cf124db566e6b036b8bcbe8decbed740bdfac8c6

17 months agoUpdated host/linvcons.c to use new timer API introduced in Linux 4.14.0.
Aaron Taylor [Wed, 28 Apr 2021 08:01:31 +0000 (01:01 -0700)]
Updated host/linvcons.c to use new timer API introduced in Linux 4.14.0.

See also:

  - https://lwn.net/Articles/735887/

  - https://stackoverflow.com/questions/53839625

17 months agoA few cosmetic changes found while making the previous commit.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 26 Apr 2021 12:01:22 +0000 (05:01 -0700)]
A few cosmetic changes found while making the previous commit.

17 months agoReplaced deprecated pci_enable_msix() call with equivalent pci_enable_msix_exact...
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 26 Apr 2021 11:58:08 +0000 (04:58 -0700)]
Replaced deprecated pci_enable_msix() call with equivalent pci_enable_msix_exact() call.

See also:

  - https://patchwork.kernel.org/project/linux-pci/patch/1412955343-27239-1-git-send-email-agordeev@redhat.com/

  - http://tomoyo.osdn.jp/cgi-bin/lxr/source/Documentation/PCI/MSI-HOWTO.txt?v=linux-4.7.10

17 months agoManually building a 'clean' target in the Makefile.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 26 Apr 2021 11:44:19 +0000 (04:44 -0700)]
Manually building a 'clean' target in the Makefile.
After completing the port to the newer kernel, the pattern behind this cleanup
can be better organized.

17 months agoManually specified target architecture in Makefile.
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 26 Apr 2021 11:43:49 +0000 (04:43 -0700)]
Manually specified target architecture in Makefile.

17 months agoInitial commit of files contained in `mpss-modules-3.8.6.tar.bz2` for Intel Xeon...
Aaron Taylor [Mon, 26 Apr 2021 01:24:22 +0000 (18:24 -0700)]
Initial commit of files contained in `mpss-modules-3.8.6.tar.bz2` for Intel Xeon Phi.